Board of Directors

The primary function of the board is oversee the operations of the agency. The board representatives provide the critical link between the communities being served and the Secwepemc Child and Family Services Agency. As representatives of the Chief and Council and communities, they fulfill the role of keeping in touch with the needs the community stakeholders and bring that knowledge to the board table. In the governance of Secwepemc Child and Family Services Agency the board does not participate in the day-today administration, but establishes the direction, policies and results to be achieved.

The board of directors of the Secwepemc Child and Family Services society is made up of fourteen (14) members. Each of the seven member communities appoints two (2) directors to represent their community on the board. Each of the seven communities hold one (1) vote on this board however representatives are required to attend all meetings. In the event a community has no representation for two consecutive meetings the President, may advise the Chief and Council of that community and request a new representative. All members of the board are resource people to the society. The executive officers of the board or Executive Committee is comprised of four individuals of the board and are elected by the members of the board to hold the positions of President, Vice-president, Secretary and Treasurer.

The board of directors operates as one unit whereby decisions and discussions are “of the board”. That is to say that decisions and discussions do not come from or belong to any one individual member of the board but are the voice of the board as one entity. Committees of the board are formed as needed and may be permanent, long-term or only temporary committees depending on need and purpose. Every committee is chaired by a member of the board but may include moose50other individuals or staff of the organization.


Meet the Board

Tk’emlups Indian Band
Sandra Seymour- Vice President
Eagle Casimir

Adams Lake Indian Band
Norma Manuel

Simpcw First Nation
Carmen Hance – President
Jules Philip

Bonaparte Indian Band
Delores Shintah
Cara Basil Secretary

Neskonlith Indian Band
Fay Ginther
Suzy Christy Treasurer

Skeetchestn Indian Band
Charlotte Singh
Marshall Gonzales

Whispering Pines/Clinton Indian Band
Debbie Van de Mosselaer